A Governing body:

  • Works in conjunction with the Head Teacher
  • Conducts their work mainly through committees and meetings lead by members of the governing body, with guidance  from the Head Teacher and the relevant paperwork
  • Makes decisions collectively as a team, specific committees or individuals

School governors:

  • Ensure a high standard of educational attainment
  • Oversee the school budget, including staffing and pay levels
  • Maintain a balanced curriculum, particularly that the National Curriculum and Religious Education are taught
  • Review and question reports on test results and pupils continuing achievement in National Curriculum assessments
  • Partake in the appointment of senior staff (including the Head Teacher) and govern staff conduct and discipline
  • Accept widespread responsibility for the conduct of the school
  • Formulate targets for pupil achievement
  • Draft action plans after an Ofsted inspection

You can read more about the role of a Governing Body in the Dfe Governors Handbook.

The representatives of the Governing Body are:

Chair – Gynette Parke (Parent)DSC_1326


Michael Swann (Local Authority)



Deamonn Hewett-Dale (Head teacher)

Mr D. Hewett-Dale


James Hallett (Co-opted)


Lynne Metcalfe (Co-opted)

Mrs L. Metcalfe


Debbie Morgan (Co-opted)

Debbie Morgan (2)


Luke Needham (Co-opted)

Mr L. Needham


Bill Webber (Co-opted)

Bill Webber (2)


Judith Turner (Parent)



Rachel King (Parent)



Rose Wiggins (Staff)

Mrs R. Wiggins


Clerk to Governors – Karen Churchill (Staff)

Mrs K. Churchill


Jane Evans (Head of Partnership and CAT Link)



Samantha Cantini  Deputy Head (Associate)

Mrs S. Cantini


Lee Dallinger  Deputy Head (Associate)

Mr L. Dallinger

We currently have a parent vacancy available.  Please contact the school for information

Governors secure area